Fijian Drua Head Coach Mick Byrne has named his squad for this Saturday’s Shop N Save Super Rugby Pacific clash against the Highlanders.

Eroni Sau and Te Ahiwaru Cirikidaveta will miss this week’s match due to injury, while’s it’s a first run-on starts for winger Taniela Rakuro and Kemu Valetini.

Emosi Tuqiri (1) is back in the starting 15 as loosehead prop with Samuela Tawake (3) at tighthead. Tevita Ikanivere (2) starts at hooker for the fifth consecutive match. Leone Rotuisolia (5) is back in the starting 15 to partner with Isoa Nasilasila (4) at lock.

Joseva Tamani returns at blindside flanker after missing out last week. Kitione Salawa (7) retains his role as openside flanker while captain Meli Derenalagi (8) will be the number 8 loose forward.

Last week’s Hoover man of the match Frank Lomani (9) remains at halfback, while Kemu Valetini (10) starts for the first time this season at flyhalf.

Another change this week sees the familiar pairing of Kalaveti Ravouvou (12) and Apisalome Vota (13) start this week as inside and outside centres respectively.

In the back three, speedster Taniela Rakuro (11) starts on the left wing with Iosefo Masi (14) moving to right wing as Selestino Ravutaumada (15) at fullback.

On the bench, Zuriel Togiatama (16) is back as reserve hooker, with Meli Tuni (17) and Jone Koroiduadua (18) covering prop positions.

Sorovakatini Tuifagalele (19) will cover the middle row with the returning Vilive Miramira (20) and Elia Canakaivata providing further impact from the bench.

Peni Matawalu (22) and Teti Tela (23) round out the matchday 23.

The match between Fijian Drua vs Highlanders will kick-off at 3.35pm FJT at Forsyth Barr Stadium in Dunedin.


Emosi Tuqiri
Tevita Ikanivere
Samuela Tawake
Isoa Nasilasila
Leone Rotuisolia
Joseva Tamani
Kitione Salawa
Meli Derenalagi (c)
Frank Lomani
Kemu Valetini
Taniela Rakuro
Kalaveti Ravouvou
Apisalome Vota
Iosefo Masi
Selestino Ravutaumada


16. Zuriel Togiatama
17. Meli Tuni
18. Jone Koroiduadua
19. Sorovakatini Tuifagalele
20. Vilive Miramira
21. Elia Canakaivata
22. Peni Matawalu
23. Teti Tela