Quarter-finals confirmed for Men’s Rugby league World Cup


An intriguing quarterfinal lineup has been confirmed for the Men’s 2021 Rugby League World Cup following the completion of the group stage matches.

Australia will begin the quarterfinals with a clash against the runners-up in Group C, Lebanon, to be played at John Smith’s Stadium in Huddersfield.

After topping Group A with three wins from their three games, Shaun Wane’s England will take on Papua New Guinea at Wigan’s DW Stadium following the completion of England women’s second group match against Canada.

Later that day, New Zealand — the winners of Group C — will face the runners-up in Group B in Fiji with their game to be played at MKM Stadium in Hull.

Completing the quarter final line-up will be a thrilling clash between Tonga and Samoa, with the winner of that match set to meet either England or Papua New Guinea at the Emirates Stadium the following week.

“Like everybody following the tournament, I couldn’t be more excited to now be reaching the business stage of the men’s competition, with the quarter final line up set to provide some thrilling matches,” RLWC 2021 CEO Jon Dutton said.

“This is when the best teams in the world really start to click into gear, with the prospect of lifting the Paul Barrière Trophy, getting ever closer.

“The stakes are high and across the weekend we will witness unscripted drama, athleticism, skill and cultures both colliding and uniting.”

All quarterfinals of the 2021 Rugby League World Cup will be shown live throughout Australia via Kayo Sports and Fox League.

Men’s Rugby League World Cup Quarterfinals

QF1: Australia v Lebanon

Saturday, November 5, 6.30am AEDT at John Smith’s Stadium, Huddersfield
QF2: England v Papua New Guinea

Sunday, November 6, 1.30am AEDT at DW Stadium, Wigan
QF3: New Zealand v Fiji

Sunday, November 6, 6.30am AEDT at MKM Stadium, Hull
QF4: Mate Ma’a Tonga v Toa Samoa

Monday, November 7, 1.30am AEDT at Halliwell Jones Stadium, Warrington.