12 PNG election petitions filed so far


Papua New Guinea deputy Prime Minister John Rosso and Treasurer Ian Ling Stuckey are among 12 returned Members of Parliament in the 2022 National General Election (NGE) whose elections are being disputed at the court of disputed returns.

The National Court Registry has so far registered 12 election petitions. It is envisaged that more petitions will be filed in the coming days.

Lae businessman Matthew Minape is challenging Rosso’s election while Glen Kiso is disputing Stuckey’s victory.

The other election petitions filed are:

*Henry Tutuwo Ame against Aiye Tambua for the Goroka Open electorate;

*Kepo Pomat against Charlie Benjamin, Manus Regional;

*Dr Allan Marat against Graham Piniau, Rabaul Open electorate;

*Paul Agiru against Manasseh Makiba, Magarima Open Electorate;

*Fr Benedict Tati against Elias Kapavore, Pomio Open Electorate;

*Petrus Thomas against William Bando Koroba Kopiago Open Electorate;

*Francis Potape against Philip Undialu, Hela Regional;

*John Simon against Gabriel Kapris, Maprik Open Electorate;

*Ross Seymour against Jason Peter Huon Gulf Open Electorate; and
*Peter Wararu against Richard Maru, Yangoru Saussia Open Electorate.

All 12 election petitions are slotted for 14 September 1 for directional hearing.