New Flying Fijians coach Mick Byrne has announced his 33-member squad for the upcoming June/July Test.

Byrne, who recently took the helm as the national coach, expresses his enthusiasm about the selected team, despite the difficult process of narrowing down the initial list of 55 players to the final 33.

He said they’ve got a good mix of players from the Drua side and overseas based who are excited to be part of the Flying Fijians side.

“I think it’s hard. I think when you’re dealing with the quality of players that we have in Fiji and for this national team, it’s very difficult. And there’s so many great players playing around the world. The first one is always a difficult one. Players are coming off club football. Some players aren’t playing a lot of minutes there and others are playing all the minutes. So it’s a mix of form coming in.”

The squad features 20 players from the Drua and 13 from international clubs, showcasing the depth and breadth of the Flying Fijians.

Byrne saids notable absences from the squad include veteran Levani Botia, and stars Josua Tuisova and Vinaya Habosi, who were unavailable due to personal commitments.

Despite these omissions, Byrne remains confident in the strength of the team selected, emphasizing the blend of experienced players and rising stars.

He is also hoping to get all the players together on the 29th of June.

The squad announcement also highlighted a key leadership role, with center Waisea Nayacalevu appointed as the team captain.

The Flying Fijians are scheduled to face the Barbarians this month.

Following this, they will confront Georgia and later take on the All Blacks.

Flying Fijians 33 member Test Squad: Eroni Mawi, Sam Matavesi, Luke Tagi, Isoa Nasilasila, Temo Mayanavanua, Lekima Tagitagivalu, Kitione Salawa, Viliame Mata, Tevita Ikanivere, Mesake Doge, Mesake Vocevoce, Ratu Leone Rotuisolia, Albert Tuisue, Elia Canakaivata, Peceli Yato, Simione Kurovoli, Frank Lomani, Caleb Muntz, Vilimoni Botitu, Waisea Nayacalevu, Semi Radradra, Selestino Ravutaumada, Ilaisa Droasese, Haereiti Hetet, Isaiah Armstrong-Ravula, Inia Tabuavou, Iosefo Masi, Juita Wainiqolo, Sireli Maqala, Peni Ravai, Zuriel Togiatama, Meli Tuni, and Peni Matawalu.

Their first match is against Georgia before facing the All Blacks in San Diego.