Samoa set to host more Super Rugby Pacific matches, Fiji to host seven matches as 2024 draw release


Super Rugby organisers have released the 2024 schedule, which is set to feature more matches across the Pacific.

After a successful cameo in Apia, plans are in the works for Moana Pasifika to play more of its home games in Samoa and across the Pacific region.

Apia Park hosted its first Super Rugby Pacific match in 2023 with Moana Pasifika hosting the Queensland Reds.

All home games on the 2024 schedule are listed as TBC for Moana Pasifika as work continues to shore up venues.

The team has typically played its home matches at Mount Smart.

The Fijian Drua will also host seven home matches in Fiji at yet-to-be-confirmed venues.

“Super Rugby Pacific is one of the premier rugby tournaments in the world and it is exciting to launch the draw for 2024,” said Super Rugby Pacific tournament director Matt Barlow.

“The 84-match regular season showcases the fastest and most free-flowing rugby on the planet with world class talent on show across all the 12 teams.

“The announcement of the match schedule and venues for the 2024 edition of the Super Rugby Pacific tournament will allow fans to plan their attendance and get set to follow their favourite teams and players.

“We will once again see matches played in Australia, Fiji and New Zealand, whilst we continue to work with our teams in potentially confirming matches in other countries throughout the Pacific region.

“Super Rugby Pacific 2024 promises to be the most competitive and most engaging competition ever seen and I can’t wait for kick off.”

Next year’s Super Rugby Pacific season will kick off with a rematch of this year’s final featuring the Chiefs and Crusaders in Hamilton.

Those two teams will face off again in round six in Christchurch for a Good Friday fixture on Easter weekend.

The opening round will also see the Queensland Reds host the NSW Waratahs in Brisbane for a headline clash between Australia’s top two teams.

Once again, the competition will have several celebration rounds. ‘Super Round’ returns for round two with every match played at Melbourne Rectangular Stadium.

Kids round returns for round six and Anzac Day commemorations will be marked in round 10. Culture and diversity will be celebrated in round 12.

The 2024 draw sees the 12 teams playing 14 matches during the regular season, consisting of 11 round-robin matches and three additional rivalry clashes.

The forthcoming competition will once again feature an eight-team finals series.