A strong Manu Samoa squad has been announced for the June Tests with nine debutants named including Miracle Faiilagi and former Wallaby Christian Lealiifano.

Faiilagi had been impressive for the Moana Pasifika and the youngster has been able to earn a national jumper.

Lima Sopoaga and Martini Talapusi have been named in the backs and also getting their first national call up.

Firecracker Tim Nanai-Williams is also on the squad.

Europe based Jorda Taufua is also in the squad. A total of six forwards will make their debut for the Manu Samoa.

Preparations begin in early July at home in Apia, with a two-week team camp. This is followed by the first test against Japan in Hokkaido, Japan on 22 July. The team returns home for back-to-back matches against their traditional Pacific rivals, Fiji and Tonga on 29 July and 5 August respectively. This will be the first time Manu Samoa plays at Apia Park since 2019, before the pandemic.

“We are pleased to announce the upcoming fixtures for Manu Samoa and most importantly bringing test matches back home to Samoa.” said Lakapi Samoa CEO, Faleomavaega Vincent Fepuleai.

“Our people will be happy to welcome and support our team again after trying times over the last three years due to covid-19.”

Upon the official naming of the RWC squad, the team will travel to France for a pre-RWC match against Ireland, on 26 August in Bayonne, France.

“To secure a match against the number one team in the world is a great help for the Manu Samoa’s preparations as opportunities to play tier 1 countries have been few and far between,” said Faleomavaega.
Manu Samoa Head Coach, Vaovasamanaia Seilala Mapusua is looking forward to the journey ahead.

“I am happy with our plans and preparations towards the Rugby World Cup, with a schedule of matches that will test us on all fronts especially physically and mentally” said Vaovasamanaia.

“Our pre-RWC opponents will reflect styles and team profiles similar to the teams that will be in our RWC pool. Playing them will be as much about their preparations as it is about ours.”

The RWC squad will be announced on the first week of August with the official arrival date into their RWC team base in Montpellier, on September 4th. Manu Samoa will play in Pool D against Chile, Argentina, Japan and England.


Michael Alaalatoa, Brian Alainuuese, Paul Alo-Emile, Michael Curry, So’otala Fa’aso’o, Miracle Faiilagi, Charlie Faumuina, Jack Lam, Seilala Lam, Titi Lamositele, Jordan Lay, Fritz Lee, Genesis Mamea-Lemalu, Steven Luatua, Sama Malolo, Theodore McFarland, Alamanda Motuga, Ray Nuia, Taleni Seu, Samuel Slade, Sa Jordan Taufua, Luteru Tolai, Jeffrey Toomaga-Allen, Tietie Tuimauga, Chris Vui.


Nigel Ah Wong, Ereatara Enari, Neria Fomai, Stacey Ili, Christian Lealiifano, Alai D’Angelo Leuila, Tumua Manu, Melani Matavao, Tim Nanai-Williams, Duncan Paia’aua, Ulupano Junior Seuteni, Lima Sopoaga, Martini Talapusi, Jonathan Taumateine, Danny Toala.