PM Sogavare defeats motion of no confidence


Members of  Solomon Islands Parliament have defeated the motion of no confidence in Solomon Islands Prime Minister Manasseh Sogavare tabled by the Opposition Leader Mathew Wale.

Those that voted in favour of the motion was 15, those that voted against the motion was 32 with 2 MPs abstained from voting.

The Prime Minister has survived the motion with 32 voting against the motion and 15 for the motion.

Speaker of Parliament, Patterson Oti, went straight to the division of the house through a roll call of those present when debates completed.

Prime Minister Manasseh Sogavare remains head of the government executive.

Parliament has adjourned  to 07 December 2021.