Five NZ judges appointed to assist Samoa bench


Five High Court Judges from New Zealand have been appointed as Acting Judges of the Supreme Court of Samoa for a period of two years.

The Judges are Justice Robert Fisher, Justice Peter Blanchard, Justice Rhys Harrison, Justice Rodney Hansen and Justice Raynor Asher.

The Judges were sworn-in by the Head of State, Afioga Tuimalealiifano Vaaletoa Sualauvi 11 in a ceremony via Video link held at the Head of State’s official Residence at Vailele last Wednesday.

The ceremony was attended by the Chief Justice Perese, Justice Nelson and Justice Roma.

The appointments were made by the Judicial Service Commission in its meeting of 04 August 2021. These appointments were made pursuant to Article 69 of the Constitution.

“The sworn judges are esteemed retired High Court Judges of New Zealand with relevant experience and knowledge to assist our local Bench,” says the Secretary of Judicial Service Commission, Moliei Simi Vaai.

“Their appointments are made to assist with the upcoming hearing of contempt cases before the Court and appeal cases before the Court of Appeal. The external oversight of judgment on these matters is paramount and it won’t be appropriate for local judges to deal with them,” said Vaai