The United Nations General Assembly (UNGA) has elected 16 Vice Presidents, including the Federated States of Micronesia (FSM), to serve during its 79th session, which will last from September 2024 until September 2025.

The Vice Presidents of the General Assembly are nominated by UN regional groups.

Micronesia is among the five countries representing the Asia-Pacific region for the 79th session.

Unlike individual representatives, Vice Presidents are chosen by country. The Permanent Representative of the elected country fulfills this role.

Responsibilities of the Vice Presidents include chairing meetings in the absence of the President of the General Assembly (PGA) and participating in the General Committee meetings, which manage the General Assembly’s agenda.

This marks the first time Micronesia has been elected as a Vice President or to any high-level position at the United Nations since it became a member in 1991.