Tuvalu is gearing up for its national election today.

Tuvaluans will cast their votes to fill the 16-member parliament when polls open from 8am till 4.00pm Friday, local time.

Elections are held every four years on tiny island nation with a population of over 11,000 people.

There are no political parties in Tuvalu, which means that all candidates run as independents, and voters will select two lawmakers in each of the eight electorates.

Incumbent Prime Minister Kausea Natano assumed office in 2019, having ousted Enele Sopoaga in a parliamentary vote.

The Pacific Island nation is seeking more financial support from the international community for climate change and development.

After votes are counted, government boats collect the new lawmakers and bring them to the capital, Funafuti, a journey that can take up to 27 hours.

Coalitions are formed before a vote of lawmakers selects the prime minister.

In November 2023, Natano signed the Falepili Union treaty, which sought to allow Tuvaluans displaced by climate change to immigrate to Australia.

A significant factor of the treaty grants a pathway for Tuvaluan citizens facing displacement from climate change to immigrate to Australia.

In exchange, the agreement allows Australia veto power over Tuvalu’s foreign security agreements.