Marshall Islands president Hilda Heine has been inaugurated in Majuro in the presence of dignitaries from across Micronesia.

President Heine was re-elected on 27 December last year for a second term as the nation’s 10th president.

She was elected in the Nitijela (Parliament) by an absolute minimum majority of 17 votes to 16 in the 33-seat chamber.

She becomes one of only two female leaders to lead a Pacific Island country, with the other being Samoa’s Prime Minister Fiame Naomi Mata’afa.

Messages of congratulations have been read out at the celebration including from the presidents of Taiwan, Palau’s president, and the Federated States of Micronesia (FSM).

FSM President Wesley Simina’s written message said the Micronesian sub-region remains united and solid in its actions.

“I would like to assure you of my strong desire to maintain and even further strengthen to mutually advance our shared interests in addressing common challenging bilaterally, regionally and globally,” he said.

“The people of the Federated States of Micronesia join me in wishing you much success in your endeavours.”

The inauguration was also attended by a four-member U.S Presidential delegation led by the U.S Executive Director of the Asia Development Bank, Chantale Wong.

“It was an honour joining the U.S Presidential delegation to the Republic of the Marshall Islands for the inauguration of President Hilda Heine as we continue to strengthen our long-standing friendship and partnership for a more prosperous Pacific,” U.S Ambassador to Micronesia Carmen Canto said on X (formerly Twitter).