Samoa head coach Seilala Mapusua has made four changes to his starting XV from the team beaten 19-10 by Argentina.

Taleni Seu comes into the back-row after making a team-high 25 metres – including 20 past the gain-line – during 26 minutes off the bench last week.

Sa Jordan Taufua replaces Steven Luatua at number eight, earning his first start since November 2022 against Romania. Taufua has not played more than 40 minutes of test rugby this season across each of his three caps off the bench.

Alai D’Angelo Leuila will partner Tumua Manu in the centres for the only the second time, and first since July 2022 against Fiji in Lautoka.

Ed Fidow replaces Nigel Ah-Wong on the right-wing, where Fidow earned four of his first five test caps in 2018 before switching to the left-wing in eight of his past 11 starts. Eight of his 12 test tries have come when starting on the right-wing.

There are 11 survivors in the match-day 23 from their 24-22 victory against Japan earlier this year, including eight in the starting XV – Paul Alo-Emile, Taleni Seu, Jonathan Taumateine, Christian Leali’ifano, Tumua Manu, Ed Fidow, Duncan Paia’aua and Danny Toala.

Samoa team

1 James Lay
2 Seilala Lam
3 Paul Alo-Emile
4 Chris Vui (c)
5 Theo McFarland
6 Taleni Junior Agaese Seu
7 Fritz Lee
8 Sa Jordan Taufua
9 Jonathan Taumateine
10 Christian Leali’ifano
11 Ben Lam
12 Alai D’Angelo Leuila
13 Tumua Manu
14 Ed Fidow
15 Duncan Paia’aua

16 Sama Malolo
17 Jordan Lay
18 Michael Alaalatoa
19 Steven Luatua
20 Alamanda Motuga
21 Melani Matavao
22 Neria Fomai
23 Danny Toala