Australia coach Eddie Jones has named La Rochelle second-row Will Skelton as captain of a young Wallabies squad for Rugby World Cup 2023.

Three uncapped players, Issak Fines-Leleiwasa, Max Jorgensen and Blake Schoupp have been included in the 33-player squad, but there is no room for Michael Hooper or Quade Cooper.

Only eight of the 33 players called up by Jones for the trip to France have previous Rugby World Cup experience.

Centurion prop James Slipper has been selected for his fourth tournament, and is by far the most experienced player included in the squad. Captain Skelton, meanwhile, is set to feature in his second Rugby World Cup eight years after his first.

Jordan Petaia, Samu Kerevi, Marika Koroibete, Taniela Tupou, Jordan Uelese and Nic White will also experience the showpiece tournament for a second time having played in Japan four years ago.

Jones said: “I’ve backed the young blokes because they earned it. Simple as that. I haven’t handed it to them. They grabbed it. It’s exciting for me to go to work each day with these guys who are just busting to improve, to learn and to get better.

“They want to succeed, and they will succeed and that excitement is rubbing off on everyone. We’re in a good place.”

Forwards: Angus Bell, Pone Fa’amausili, Zane Nonggorr, Blake Schoupp, James Slipper, Taniela Tupou, Matt Faessler, Dave Precki, Jordan Uelese, Richie Arnold, Nick Frost, Matt Philip, Will Skelton (captain), Langi Gleeson, Tom Hooper, Josh Kemeny, Rob Leota, Fraser McReight, Rob Valetini.

Backs: Issak Fines-Leleiwasa, Tate McDermott, Nic White, Carter Gordon, Lalakai Foketi, Samu Kerevi, Izaia Perese, Jordan Petaia, Max Jorgensen, Andrew Kellaway, Marika Koroibete, Mark Nawaqanitawase, Suliasi Vunivalu, Ben Donaldson.