Nauru sports great and politician, and Tongan sport administrator join ONOC Executive


Nauru Speaker of Parliament and President of the Nauru National Olympic Committee (NNOC) Marcus Stephen and Takitoa Taumoepeau, Secretary-General of the Tongan Association of Sport and National Olympic Committee (TASANOC) are the newest members of the ONOC Executive.

Leaving the ONOC Executive Board after exemplary service at global level in the Olympic Movement are John Coates, who recently stepped down as President of the Australian Olympic Committee (AOC) and Vice-President of the International Olympic Committee (IOC); and at Continental level, Antoine Boudier, President of the Vanuatu Association of Sport and National Olympic Committee (VASANOC).

Vanuatu’s Boudier was also Chair of the ONOC Executive’s Audit Committee and provided oversight in financial matters.

Other ONOC Executives who have retained their positions include President Robin Mitchell (FIJ), Vice-President Baklai Temengil (PLW), Secretary-general Ricardo Blas (GUM) and Board Members James Tobin (FSM) and Auvita Rapilla (PNG) plus IOC Members who gain an automatic place in the Board based on their IOC status.

IOC Member James Tomkins (AUS) served until the Tokyo 2020 Olympics. Karo Lelai (PNG) Chair of the ONOC Athletes’ Commission will be steeping down at the ONOC Athletes’ Forum later this year after a history of stellar service to athletes

Chair of the ONOC Athletes’ Commission Karo Lelai (PNG) who has provided stellar services to athletes was farewelled at the ONOC General Assembly, her last, as she will not be contesting the position at the ONOC Athletes’ Forum later in the year.

Dr Robin Mitchell (FIJ) and Baklai Temengil (PLW) were voted by Members but by virtue of their IOC Member status, would still be members even if not voted in.

ONOC is pleased to have champion Australian canoeist Jessica Fox appointed to the IOC Athletes’ Commission. She becomes an ONOC Athletes’ Commission Member and ONOC Member by virtue of this appointment.