Effective immediately Samoas’ borders to travelers from countries such as Australia, Fiji, the United States, the United Kingdom is closed until further notice.

The Updated Travel Advisory to this effect was issued by the Ministry of Health.

In addition, the Advisory re-emphasised that “Entry is denied to All passengers from or transit through South Africa, Botswana, Eswatini, Lesotho, Malawi, Mozambique, Namibia, Seychelles, Zimbabwe, United Kingdom, Belgium, Germany, Australia, Fiji, United States of America. They are not permitted to enter Samoa.”

MoH is also reminding the travellers that they “will be assessed on a case-by-case basis before being granted permission to travel to Samoa.”

Travellers are also required to download the Samoa Travel Tracer app onto their phones before travel.