In a historic development, a total of eight women have secured seats in the joint Solomon Islands elections.

Three will serve in the national parliament, two inside the Honiara City Council and three at the provincial government level.

Chief Electoral Commissioner Jasper Anisi highlighted this to reporters in a media conference.

“There have been eight women declared in the joint parliamentary elections, so congratulations to the women who managed to win seats,” Anisi said.

For the national seats, Cathy Nori is the newly elected Member of Parliament for Maringe/Kokota, Isabel Province.

Choylin Yim Douglas is the incoming MP for Ngella, Central Islands Province, while Freda Rangirei Tuki has retained her Temotu Vatud Constituency for a third term.

At the provincial level, Rhoda Sikilabu has retained her seat for the sixth term as provincial member for Sigana ward in Isabel Province.

Joycelyn Wesly Ipei retains her provincial seat for Nea/Noole ward in Temotu Province and newcomer Roselyn Emy Akomu MPA for Liuanua, Malaita Outer Islands.

Dorah Huapii Iro has retained her seat for Cruz Ward for a second term, while Lydia Yeo scored her first win as Councillor for Panatina Ward in East Honiara.