The Fijian Drua have named their squad for the crucial Super Rugby Pacific clash against the Western Force in Lautoka this Saturday.

Head Coach Mick Byrne has made a few changes to matchday 23 this week, with talismanic halfback Frank Lomani making his 50th Super Rugby Pacific appearance and a potential debut by rookie Waqa Nalaga.

In the starting 15, powerful front rower Haereiti Hetet (1) retains his place at loosehead prop. Tevita Ikanivere (2) is the starting hooker and will be captain for this match. Veteran prop Mesake Doge (3) is at tighthead. Locks Mesake Vocevoce (4) and Leone Rotuisolia (5) retain their spots in the middle row. Etonia Waqa (6) remains at blindside flanker, while it’s a first start in 2024 for Kitione Salawa (7) on the openside flanker. Robust loose forward Elia Canakaivata is back in the matchday squad and starts at number 8 this week.

Frank Lomani (9) starts at halfback in his 50th appearance in Super Rugby Pacific, pairing with Isaiah Armstrong-Ravula (10) who is at flyhalf. Epeli Momo (11) returns to the starting line-up this week on the left wing this week with Selestino Ravutaumada (14) on the right. Apisalome Vote (12) retains his place at inside centre, with try scoring machine Iosefo Masi (13) outside him. Ilaisa Droasese (15) completes the starting 15 at fullback.

Byrne has named Zuriel Togiatama (16) covering at hooker, with props Livai Natave (17) and Samuela Tawake (18) at loosehead and tighthead respectively. An impactful middle and backrow pair of Te Ahiwaru Cirikidaveta (19) and Motikiai Murray (20), who makes it to the matchday 23 for the first time since last season’s quarter-final. The replacement backline sees Simione Kuruvoli (21) at back-up halfback, with young Waqa Nalaga (22) set to make his Super Rugby debut covering for the centres. Taniela Rakuro (23) completes the matchday 23.

First 15

1.Haereiti Hetet

2.Tevita Ikanivere (c)

3.Mesake Doge

4.Mesake Vocevoce

5.Leone Rotuisolia

6.Etonia Waqa

7.Kitione Salawa

8.Elia Canakaivata

9. Frank Lomani

10. Isaiah Armstrong- Ravula

11. Epeli Momo

12.Apisalome Vota

13.Iosefo Masi

14.Selestino Ravutaumada

15.Ilaisa Droasese


16.Zuriel Togiatama

17.Livai Natave

18.Samuela Tawake

19.Te Ahiwaru Cirikidaveta

20. Motikiai Murray

21.Simione Kuruvoli

22.Waqa Nalaga

23.Taniela Rakuro.